EU, US, Canada sanction Chinese officials

23 March, 2021

Courtesy of ICRT

Canada and the United States have launched coordinated sanctions against Chinese officials over human rights abuses in China's far western Xinjiang region. The sanctions include travel bans and asset freezes.

U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken says that “a united transatlantic response sends a strong signal to those who violate or abuse international human rights, and we will take further actions in coordination with like minded partners.”

China's Foreign Ministry announced retaliatory sanctions against 10 individuals and four institutions, saying that they and their family members would be barred from entering mainland China, Hong Kong or Macao and cut off from financial dealings with those areas.

Go Top