More EU nations ban travel from UK

21 December, 2020

Courtesy of ICRT

A growing list of European Union nations and Canada have barred flights from the UK and others are considering similar action.

The moves were made on Sunday, to try to block a new strain of coronavirus, sweeping across southern England, from spreading to the continent.

France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland, and Bulgaria, all announced restrictions on UK travel.

It came hours after British Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced that Christmas shopping and gatherings in southern England must be cancelled.

He blamed rapidly spreading infections in the region on the new coronavirus variant, which officials say is 70% more transmissible than existing strains.

Go Top