Travellers from 14 countries allowed to visit the EU

01 July, 2020

By ECCT staff writers


The EU has named 14 countries whose citizens will be allowed to travel to the EU, despite the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. However, the list is only advisory. Individual EU member states will still have authorisation over who may travel to and from their countries. So far, a qualified majority of EU countries - at least 55% of the EU countries, representing 65% of the EU population - have signed off on the list.


Taiwan was excluded from the list as was the United Kingdom. Meanwhile, the EU will consider adding China to the list if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal deal for EU travellers. Meanwhile EU border controls have been lifted for EU citizens travelling inside EU countries.

According to the BBC, the UK is currently negotiating "air bridges" with several EU member states, so that coronavirus does not totally block summer holidays - the busiest season in Europe for tourism, which employs millions of people. 

Go Top