Lai names security team

26 April, 2024

Courtesy of ICRT


President-elect Lai Ching-te has announced the appointment of leading members of his national security team.


National Security Council Secretary-General Wellington Koo will serve as defence minister when the new administration takes office on 20 May. Incumbent Foreign Minister Joseph Wu will return to his previous position as secretary-general of the National Security Council.

Former Taichung Mayor Lin Chia-lung will serve as foreign minister. Qiu Chui-zheng will head the Mainland Affairs Council. Tsai Ming-yen will continue to serve as director-general of the National Security Bureau.


Current Vice Premier Cheng Wen-tsan has been appointed as chair of the Straits Exchange Foundation. Former defence minister and National Security Council secretary-general, Yen Teh-fa will head the Veterans Affairs Council while former Pingtung County magistrate and DPP lawmaker, Pan Meng-an will serve as secretary-general to the president.


Go Top