01 December, 2023

The ECCT had another great year in 2023. In his annual report to members at today’s Annual General Meeting (AGM), ECCT Chairman Izzo reported that 2023 was a successful year for the chamber, despite challenging economic conditions. The chamber engaged frequently with government ministries and agencies throughout the year, helping to further promote its members’ business interests. Membership remained steady at over 1,020 individual members and the quality and participation at events remained high. A number of successful events were held and, in terms of advocacy, the chamber achieved progress on over 20% of the issues raised in its 2023 Position Papers.


The ECCT was extremely active during the year, holding its flagship Europe Day Dinner with President Tsai and several events featuring prominent local and international speakers. This included the 2023 Europe-Taiwan Telecom Forum, held for the seventh time, and separate Premium Event lunches with candidates for Taiwan’s 2024 presidential election. The chamber also launched its Family Friendly Alliance, which shares best practices aimed at creating a family friendly environment in Taiwan. In addition, the chamber arranged or participated in numerous conferences, seminars, and forums in conjunction with government agencies and non-governmental associations.


The AGM was the forum to elect the 2024 boards of directors and supervisors. 2023 Chairman Giuseppe Izzo was re-elected to serve as chairman for a second consecutive one-year term by the new board of directors at their first meeting following the AGM. (please see below for a full list of directors and supervisors).

2024 Board of Directors



Giuseppe Izzo, Managing Director, Taiwan & Vice President, Asia Pacific Region, STMicroelectronics Ltd.


Directors (in alphabetical order)

Rahil Ansari, CEO & Chairman, Volkswagen Group Taiwan

Manon Breuvart, CEO, BNP Paribas Taipei Branch

H Henry Chang, Principal, Baker McKenzie

Wesley Chen, General Manager, Merck Life Science, Merck Group Taiwan

Laurent Chevalier, Country Chair, Gas Renewables & Power, TotalEnergies, TotalEnergies Marketing Taiwan Ltd.

David Chou, President, Ericsson Taiwan Ltd.

Karine Drai, Deputy Managing Director, CMA CGM (Taiwan) Ltd.

John Eastwood, Attorney-at-Law (US), Eiger

Erdal Elver, President & CEO, Siemens Limited Taiwan

Van Hoang, Chairman & CEO, Baseload Power Taiwan Inc.

Sand Dee Ng, Managing Director, BASF Taiwan Ltd.

Alex Robertson, Country Manager & VP, Vestas Offshore Wind Taiwan Ltd.

Jennifer Wang, Managing Director, TÜV Rheinland Taiwan Ltd.

John Winter, Country Manager, Robert Walters


Alternate Directors (in order of election)

Jackson Lee, Chairman, Head of Taiwan, FIL Securities Investment Trust Co. (Taiwan) Limited

Brian Hsieh, CEO, Schroder Investment Management (Taiwan) Limited

Leon Wu, Director of Business Origination and Stakeholder Engagement, Corio Generation Taiwan Limited


2024 Board of Supervisors


Executive Supervisor

Tudor Pascu, Managing Director, Melchers Trading GmbH, Taiwan Branch


Supervisors (in alphabetical order)

Mike Jewell, Freelance Consultant

Martin Lindström, Group Director, DFI Home Furnishings Taiwan Limited - IKEA Taiwan

Achim v. Hake, Hotel & Hospitality Professional

Jeff Wu, Managing Director, Heineken Brouwerijen BV Taiwan Branch


Alternate Supervisor

Antoine Bouin, Vice President, Head of Area Taiwan, Schenker (HK) Ltd., Taiwan Branch

Go Top